Long time

Standard

Life’s been pretty… steady, I guess, in that nothing jumps out and screams, “WRITE ABOUT ME!!!” I’m really happy with things, and that leads to mundane blogging.

Things that are new:

  • I’m going back to school in August
  • My sandals, which are super-comfortable and orthopaedically correct and sort of cute

That’s about it really. And I realize that the going back to school thing probably does jump out and scream “WRITE ABOUT ME!!!” but frankly, it’s not much of a story. About a month ago, I had an epiphany. I should be a librarian. To be a librarian, you need a Masters in Library Science. To get a Masters in Library Science, you need a Bachelors in Arts and Sciences. To get a Bachelors in Arts and Sciences, you need an Associates in… anything really. So that’s where I’m at. I’m in the process of applying to the local community college to start on that. I’m planning on doing my undergrad in Linguistics. I’m really excited. I’ve got it all planned out in my head, but I don’t want to jinx anything so I’m keeping quiet on phase 2 until I get closer to implementing it.

I did see Star Wars a couple of weeks ago, and again on Sunday. I liked it. Parts were kind of ridiculous (like most of the dialog, for example) but it was cool, and both times I got a bit of a thrill when they put the helmet on Darth Vader and he took his first whooshy breath.

I’m still knitting like a fiend. Unfortunately, I’m at a point right now where I don’t feel like knitting on any of the projects that I’ve started, and I don’t feel like starting a new project, and the couple of new projects I’ve started, I manage to royally screw up. Like the sock that I got three quarters of the way finished yesterday and when I tried it on it didn’t fit At. All. I’m trying that sock again today, so wish me luck. I think that because that green sweater

was supposed to be a leisurely project, and then I went and finished it in 4 and a half days I kind of used up all of my steam for the month. I don’t know. It could be anything.

P and I celebrated our first anniversary earlier this month. Happy!

That’s about it, really.

4 responses »

  1. Library school rocks.

    In about 24 months (I think), I will have two library degrees, and will (I hope I hope) be employable in NZ, the UK, or *gasp* even here.

    Librarianship is constantly changing and we have to fight for the profession and even fight for the existence of libraries, but it’s worth it. At least, I think so.

    –says Jemfo (remember me?)

Leave a Reply

