Training

Standard

The training was totally cool. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would like to someday take the next class up. i.e. this was 501, and the next class is 502. Also I’m going to an open house next week which should be a good networking oportunity. Granted I don’t know how to network, but I’m told that it’s a good oportunity.

This has been a total non-week. Monday I worked a normal day, and at about 2 in the afternoon we got an email from the prez telling us to take Veterans Day off to celebrate our families. Well I didn’t celebrate my family but you bet your sweet bippy (what?) that I celebrated my PS2. Tuesday was great. I didn’t feel even a teensy bit guilty about being a total slacker. It’s been so stressful here lately, and a free day was exactly what was needed. I got to sleep in (til 9:30, whee!), play video games, watch soap operas, eat junk food (well, i didn’t exactly need the day off to do that, but), nap, and go shopping. And then as the perfect crown to an already rocking day, Stitch’n’Bitch! There was definitely more of the latter this week… but it was cool.

Yesterday was Wednesday and day one of training. I got downtown an hour and fifteen minutes early. Oops. It was super nice out, so I took a walk. I wish I worked on Michigan Avenue. There’s so much to see. I tried to get down to the Lake, but I couldn’t seem to find a street to go through. I found the Hyatt Regency, and thought “Oh, cool, so that’s where the conference is. How posh. I wonder who I’ll be rooming with this year… oh. Right. I won’t be at the conference.” That was depressing and liberating at the same time. As is this whole layoff in general. I’m really feeling that I worked really hard for two and a half years and have nothing to show for it. Nothing tangible. Not like Scruffy who can point at a building and say “I did that.” But then at the same time, I gathered a ton of knowledge and picked up many skills that I didn’t have when I started here. And that’s one of the things that was great about this training, is that I know now that everything that I stumbled around blindly, burying myself under dozens of manuals, trying to figure out, I was doing it right! It was nice to know that. Granted, in a lot of ways I was reinventing the wheel, but at least this way, I have a much greater understanding of the inner workings of the database, and the program, and basically just the theory, and it all makes sense! And that makes me feel good. It’s a bit of a relief, really, because although I don’t have a degree in computer science, I’ve probably got a leg up on a fresh graduate, as I’ve got a bunch of practical experience that s/he just doesn’t have. Or at least that’s what I keep telling myself… and it helps.

Last night I went shopping again, and nearly got blown into the river. It was so insanely windy here last night, and yes, I know that Chicago is the windy city. It was just even moreso last night. It was apocalyptic wind last night. The best part about last night is that I finished my kittyville hat (pattern from the Stitch and Bitch book) It’s all purple and fuzzy and cute as hell. I was going to take a picture with my Zire71, but the battery was dead. Boo. But it’s all fully charged up now, woo! I’ll get a picture up tomorrow. Maybe.

Today I again got into the city far earlier than I had intended, but instead of walking I hung around the lobby of the building the training was in because it was C-O-L-D cold. The training went really well. I wish it had been more new stuff and less review/refresh, but… aside from that it was just really good. Had to come to work afterwards today which was kind of annoying, but I did have work that needed doing. I find that any motivation that I had for my work (which, honestly, really wasn’t much since taking over pubs sales) is completely gone. I don’t really want to give them anything, I guess, is the best way to explain it. I’ll get stuff done, but I don’t want to “give it my all” because my all is off reading the classifieds, if you know what I mean.

Tonight I’m going to Spammypalooza.

Tomorrow is the rehearsal dinner, so I’ve got to do some laundry, pack, (hopefully pick up my contacts) and get pretty. In that order. I’m really excited about the wedding, and I’m glad that BG and I have gotten to be friends. She’s really cool and I like her a lot and having a sister(-in-law) is turning out to be wicked cool. I’ll give a report on the festivities Sunday or Monday. Most likely there’ll be pictures, too.

See you all next week.

peace + love,

Schecki

Leave a Reply

