Par-tay.

Standard

Two of them, actually. It was Barbie Girl’s bridal shower and bachelorette party. My first of each (well, sort of. I’ve been to bridal showers before, but never as an adult, or where the invitation wasn’t sort of assumed because my mother was invited.)

The shower was nice, lots of women I’ve never met and a couple that I have, and most of them I’ll see at the wedding and then never again. Felt pretty… not out of place, exactly, but… basically I didn’t really know anyone and felt kinda dorky for hanging out with Scruffy’s mom and aunt and grandma for almost the whole time. Not that they’re dorky, because they’re not, but I felt like I should have been a little more outgoing and gotten to know the other bridesmaids. But oh well, right? Luckily, at the apex of my feeling like a dork, VSGirl showed up, and I felt a little better because I knew her (well as well as you can know someone after a night of drunken charades at Cubbie Boy and Barbie Girl’s house) and she was happy to see me because I was the only person other than Barbie Girl that she knew there so we pretty much hung out with each other for the rest of the party. Met all of the other bridesmaids, except for one who wasn’t able to come to the shower, but did call and speak with BG during the party itself which I thought was really nice of her, as did BG.

BG got so much stuff. It was like Christmas and a birthday and everything all rolled into one. I was really happy for her and CB, and as much as I hate to admit it, a wee bit jealous. Not because I need all the stuff that she got, and in all actuality, I have much of the things that she got, but… I don’t know. I was a little jealous, is all. She was very gracious and thankful and all, but it kind of made me cringe because she kept saying “I got my this” and “I got my that” and it just seemed a little… off? And I know BG well enough to know she wasn’t being rude or anything, she was just sort of mentally checking off the registry list. Oh, and I made a new friend, which was really cool.

Anyway, that was the shower. Onward toward the debauchery.

A couple of people had left the shower to go home and change and meet back at BG’s big sister’s house, and the rest of us carpooled over and got changed. I felt kind of like an ass, because as I mentioned earlier, I’d never been to a bachelorette party and didn’t know that I (ok, I know one never HAS to bring a gift, but) should have brought a gift… oops. Now I know, and truthfully, I don’t think BG really even cared.

Ack… my mental train has been derailed. Let me sort through the very slightly booze hazy details, and I’ll get back to y’all…

peace + love,

la schecki

Leave a Reply

